Cheapest GLP-1 in October 2026: $149 self-pay, $25 with coverage
As of October 19, 2026, across the 6 FDA-approved GLP-1s we track, the lowest published cash price is $149 a month (Wegovy pill or Foundayo, lowest doses; sources: NovoCare, LillyDirect). With commercial coverage it can be $25; on Medicare’s GLP-1 Bridge, $50. A year at $149 a month comes to $1,788. Compounded versions are advertised for less, but they are not FDA-approved.
| Route | From | What | Catch | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial insurance covers the drug | $25 | Zepbound, Mounjaro, Foundayo, Wegovy or Ozempic with the manufacturer savings card | Plan must cover it; government beneficiaries excluded; Novo caps savings at $100/mo | [1][2][3] |
| Medicare Part D (GLP-1 Bridge) | $50 | Wegovy pen or pill, Foundayo, Zepbound KwikPen | Prior authorization and CMS clinical criteria; Jul 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2027 | [4] |
| Brand-name pill, self-pay | $149 | Wegovy pill 1.5 mg or Foundayo 0.8 mg / 2.5 mg | Price rises with dose: up to $299 | [2][3] |
| Brand-name injection, self-pay (first two fills) | $199 | Wegovy or Ozempic pen, 0.25 mg and 0.5 mg, new patients | Intro only; then $349. Offer through Dec 31, 2026 | [2][5] |
| Brand-name injection, self-pay (ongoing) | $299 | Zepbound 2.5 mg vial or KwikPen | Starting dose; 5 mg is $399, 7.5–15 mg $449 | [6] |
| Compounded semaglutide | $60 | Mochi Health ("As low as $60") | Not FDA-approved; supply period not stated; membership extra | [7] |
| Compounded tirzepatide | $90 | Mochi Health ("As low as $90") | Not FDA-approved; supply period not stated; membership extra | [7] |
Why does the cheapest option depend on coverage?
The cheapest route depends almost entirely on insurance status. If your commercial plan covers a GLP-1, the manufacturer copay cards are the floor at $25 a month[1][2]. On Medicare, the GLP-1 Bridge sets a flat $50 copay for covered obesity drugs[4].
Paying cash for an FDA-approved drug, the floor is $149 a month for the lowest-dose pills: the Wegovy pill at 1.5 mg[2] and Foundayo at 0.8 mg (and 2.5 mg, temporarily)[3]. For injections, Novo’s $199 new-patient price is the lowest for two fills, then $349; Zepbound starts at $299[6].
Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are advertised for less, from $60 and $90 at Mochi Health, but Mochi does not state the supply period on that card and adds that medications are not included in membership[7]. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved[8]. Telehealth memberships also add to the bill. Hims and Hers, for example, charge $149 a month after the first month, separately from the medication[9].
What is the cheapest option over a year?
- Wegovy pill 1.5 mg, 12 months: $149 × 12 = $1,788, no membership via NovoCare[2].
- Wegovy pen, 2 intro fills + 10 at $349: $3,888[2].
- Zepbound 2.5 mg, 13 four-week fills: $3,887[6].
- Medicare Bridge, 12 months: $50 × 12 = $600[4].
Lowest-dose prices are shown for comparison only; your prescriber decides the dose.
Questions people ask
What is the cheapest GLP-1 without insurance?
Among FDA-approved drugs, the Wegovy pill (1.5 mg) and Foundayo (0.8 mg) both start at $149 a month self-pay as of October 19, 2026. Compounded options are advertised from $60, but they are not FDA-approved.
What is the cheapest GLP-1 injection without insurance?
Novo Nordisk’s Wegovy and Ozempic pens are $199 a month for new patients’ first two fills, then $349. Zepbound starts at $299 for the 2.5 mg dose.
What is the cheapest GLP-1 on Medicare?
Under the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, eligible Part D enrollees pay $50 a month for Wegovy, Foundayo or the Zepbound KwikPen with prior authorization.
Sources
Every price above links to one of these pages. We loaded each one and saved a copy on the date shown.
- Zepbound cost information (list price and direct-to-patient price) . Eli Lilly and Company. Checked .https://pricinginfo.lilly.com/zepbound
- Wegovy savings offer and self-pay prices (pen, HD pen and pill) . Novo Nordisk (NovoCare). Checked .https://www.novocare.com/obesity/products/wegovy/savings-offer.html
- Foundayo coverage and savings (self-pay terms) . Eli Lilly and Company. Checked .https://foundayo.lilly.com/coverage-savings
- What to Know About the BALANCE Model for GLP-1s in Medicare and Medicaid and the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge . KFF, published May 11, 2026. Checked .https://www.kff.org/medicare/what-to-know-about-the-balance-model-for-glp-1s-in-medicare-and-medicaid/
- Ozempic cost and coverage . Novo Nordisk. Checked .https://www.ozempic.com/savings-and-resources/save-on-ozempic.html
- Zepbound on LillyDirect (vial and KwikPen self-pay prices) . Eli Lilly and Company. Checked .https://www.lilly.com/lillydirect/zepbound
- FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize . U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Checked .https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-alerts-and-statements/fda-clarifies-policies-compounders-national-glp-1-supply-begins-stabilize
- Hims weight loss: medications and prices . Hims & Hers Health. Checked .https://www.hims.com/weight-loss